Turmeric Chicken Stir Fry

19 Jul

This is my first stir fry, in my new wok, that I have actually owned for over one year. Stir fry is so easy y’all, why have I not made them before? I don’t know!

IMG_2324

I got this recipe from Saucy Little Dish, a Brooklyn cooking blog that I have not made a meal from until now. Why have I not cooked a meal from their recipes yet? I don’t know! I will go ahead and post the recipe here, straight from Erin’s post, with some changes I made, but you should certainly visit the blog and have a look for yourself.

“1-2 tablespoons peanut or canola oil (I used coconut oil)

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts or thighs, sliced into 1 inch pieces (I am pretty certain cubed tofu would work great too. My chicken had skin on it, and it was no big deal)

1 yellow onion, sliced thin

2 garlic cloves, minced

Shake or two of cayenne pepper

1 heaping tablespoon (or 2) of turmeric

1/2 inch fresh ginger, grated (or you can use 1 teaspoon dried ginger)

2 tablespoons butter (I skipped this ingredient)

2 tablespoons soy sauce (I used Bragg’s Liquid Aminos instead)

1/2 cup of chicken stock

1 head of broccolini or broccoli florets

1 cup of mushrooms, sliced thin

Heat oil in a wok or sauté pan. When hot add the chicken and cook for a few minutes until the pink fades. (I have never stir fried, but just so you know, you want it the heat to be med/high.)

Add the onion and garlic, stir or shake the pan to coat everything in the oil and cook for a few minutes until the onions are translucent. Make a well in the center and add the ginger.

Add the cayenne and turmeric, and again stir to coat everything in the spices.  The pan will immediately turn an amazing, bright yellow color.

Stir again to coat then add the soy sauce, butter, and chicken stock. Then add the broccoli and mushrooms and allow everything to simmer for just shy of 5 minutes.

Serve over rice.”

This was pretty easy, fast, and delicious. You should certainly try it. I will be making more stir fry soon. If you have ever made it, you know that all the work is in the prep. After you have chopped and cubed and cut your veggies and meat, you’ve done all the work. This prep can easily be done the evening before, if you have a long day coming up and need a quick meal.

Also, I have never cooked with turmeric, but have had some in my pantry for over two years. Does turmeric normally have a faintly dusty smell? Or is mine just old? I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

