Birthday Bags

29 Jul

For the last year, everyone in my family has received a special birthday bag. Made by me. Everybody has really liked them, but I am happy to see the cycle completed. Now I can sew other stuff!! There are two folks who I am very late on getting a bag to, but other than that, done and D O N E! Birthday Bags
I also had fun making cut-out stamp cards. For each and every member of the fam, plus friends too. That’s a lot of cutting out! I got smart and sat down one or two times and made a whole bunch at once. That’s the way to make your own cards, let me tell y’all.

I’ve decided that I’m going to collage for this next year’s cards. Collage is a fun bird. You imagine certain ideas, but it’s almost a waste of time, because nothing really comes out how you imagined once you sit down with scissors and material. I just found that out tonight. What I am making is going to be fairly simple, by the way. I don’t have time for all that cutting and gluing, okay?! I love collage a lot, but man, it’s hard to do. A good collage can be quite stunning with simplicity, or complexity, whereas many collages (mine) can easily be a jumble. I don’t know what makes the difference.

Joseph Cornell is wonderful, of course.

Screen Shot 2013-07-28 at 10.02.14 PM

Dash Snow has some phenomenal collage (much more interesting than his photos if you ask me), and I’m not talking about that collage piece that features his sperm either. Screen Shot 2013-07-28 at 10.07.34 PM

I also love John Baldessari’s dot faces.artwork_images_320_456404_john-baldessari

Leave a Reply

