When it’s past my bedtime and I’m still awake

29 Jul

It’s past my bedtime, but I’m still awake. Both kids are in bed, and… asleep. I have a baby who is still waking up several times at night, and I’ve been good. I’ve been so good these past 6 months, of going to bed when he goes to bed. Or at least, shortly after he goes to bed. Lately though, I have been staying awake later.

I’ve been doing things like reading. Talking to my husband. Writing. And yes, Facebook-ing. You see, daytimes are fully scheduled events, fully busy, and fully full of kids. I have 2 babysitting charges that come each day, plus my daughter, and then the baby. I’m staying up later at night because I want to feel like an autonomous adult again, if just for a short time. I want to have a few moments TO MYSELF.

If you have kids, then I am preaching to the choir. You know exactly what I am talking about. I am sure you do it too, and stay up too late after the kids are asleep, and just to feel normal again, somehow. It’s funny how that works. Or is it?

IMG_2281

Leave a Reply

