Book Shelves, mostly read.

25 Oct

I took a look at my bookshelf today. It’s really full. I’ve mostly read all those books on the bottom shelf, and all the books BEHIND the books. I’ve read those too. Mostly. Some of the top shelf I have read too, like Barbara Kingsolver, and “Teach Your Own”, and “All Art is Propaganda”. I read that on the beach last year. Orwell and the beach definitely mix well together, although I’m not sure how. But that middle shelf! It’s mostly unread. Time to get crackin.

I know some folks make a habit of reading at least one chapter a day. If I get really into a book, I have to say to myself “ONLY one chapter a day”, do you feel me? Otherwise I feel like a sloth of some sort, while I sit around compulsively reading. But let’s be honest, that’s the best kind of reading there is. The last book I compulsively read was “The Mare” by Mary Gaitskill, and just before that it was “The Bone People” by Keri Hulme. That last one was especially compulsive (my synonym for “excellent”).

img_3134

2016-09-18-15-21-33

Lately I’ve been involved in my college copy of “Bystander: Street Photography”. It’s fun to finally crack it open to read it, rather than just to look at the images, and skim some of the info. I’ve rekindled my love for Cartier-Bresson, and Kertesz. I am also in the middle of Anne Dillard’s “American Childhood”, and I’ve been looking to start either “Let Us Now Praise Famous Men”, or Barthes.

But what I really want is a juicy novel, because there’s nothing like losing yourself in good fiction. The ultimate escape-adventure.

Leave a Reply

